The listed buildings at Bryggen were constructed after the city fire of 1702 in which almost 90 percent of the city was lost. The buildings represent a unique type of settlement structure that stretches all the way back to the early medieval period. The number of wooden buildings was originally far higher than it is today, and the row of wooden gables stretched all the way from Finnegården at the South end of the harbour to at the North end, where the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is found today. The Southern parts were torn down in 1899 following a City Council decision, five more tenements were destroyed in a fire in 1955, and a further 14 buildings belonging to the tenements Hjortegården and Holmedalsgården were lost in a fire in 1958. Today, seven tenements with 11 gable walls remain, comprising a total of 63 individual buildings.

Illustration showing the 11 rows of houses, divided into 7 tenements. Adapted by Espen Svendsen, Bergen City Museum.